Let’s try this again, shall we?

It’s quite possible that I have figured this out. It’s also quite possible that I will forget the bazillion steps it took to get to this point. The unfortunate thing is that the app is not WYSIWYG, so therefore I’m left sifting through gobbledy-code to label anything or to continue writing between pics. And I’m sure my data plan just blew over the limit for the month of June. It would have been cheaper to just go buy a new modem for my laptop. It certainly would have been easier to install said modem than it was to post all of these pictures.

A big ole snapping turtle laying eggs in the sand.

Fitzgerald Bay sandbar, at twilight.

Opium, anyone? I’ve got lots.

Any idea what this is and what it’s used for? Friends of ours are cleaning out their 120 year old storage barn (think American Pickers style) and found this buried in there. Roselle grew up on and inherited the farm, but can’t for the life of her figure out what it is.

Almost every morning there is a Luna moth on the wall of the garage.

A brand new turtle.

Bleeding hearts in the garden.

So, how does this post look for you? Is it warped? Is it excessive? Comments and critiques are required. The future of my Blackberry Blogging depends on it.

10 Comments

  1. June 11, 2011 at 10:55 am

    Not excessive to me. Beautiful, natural, things the city folk never see. I know what you mean about the complicated process, however. Mary bought a digital camera, 10mp, that came with a 200pg manual on CD-R. Neither one of us has been able to figure it out, so I’m still shooting pix from my phone.

    Silly guesses as to what that thingy from the barn is:
    Thor left his fork.
    Pioneer Mormon marital aid, for two wives.
    Tractor hitch for kayak.
    Dog-pulled plow. (It’s upside-down.)

    • June 13, 2011 at 7:30 am

      I offered up the dog plow idea, which isn’t as far-fetched as it sounds when we consider what dogs are still used for up here, until Mr. Little pointed out that there’s no handle for controlling it from the human end. I won’t repeat what he said about the marital aid idea, since Mrs. Little slapped him when he said it.

  2. Pie said,

    June 11, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    “Pioneer Mormon marital aid, for two wives.” That’s hilarious Mikey. Well done.

    SBC, these pictures are gorgeous. I’m particularly struck by the little turtles and that moth. I’ve never seen a moth like that before in my life. The pictures don’t look distorted at all. You can keep ’em coming if you can afford to pay for the extra data your Crackberry will be eating to bring them to us. Otherwise same time next month?

    • June 13, 2011 at 7:55 am

      I will try to take a perspective photo of a Luna moth, just to show you how big they actually are. This one was about the size of my hand.

      Canada recently instilled legislation about internet usage for it’s consumers, there is now a monthly cap on data transfer. It’s a pain in the ass. A user can buy packages according to their needs, up to a certain amount, but if you go over the limit it’s an average cost of $15 per megabyte. And the package limits are low, it’s not hard to go over, especially for gamers and those who download movies and such. Until the change, unlimited access was available for one flat rate. I’m not bitter at all, do I sound bitter??

  3. Diane said,

    June 12, 2011 at 11:19 am

    I have the WP app for my iPhone and it’s easy to use. Kind of. You just have to say the correct combo of cuss words.

    I love old, rusty doodads but have no idea what that is. If it was boring ol’ wintertime, I’d do some searching, but it’s crazy busy summertime. Which is why I’m sitting at the computer. Wasting time. Doh.

    • June 13, 2011 at 8:15 am

      I am a hoarder of rusty bits. I’ve already come home with a truckload of goods out of the barn…there’s a hay baler at the bottom with my name on it, if I can convince Paul that we need such a big lawn ornament. I’ve tried to use the “but it’s history!” angle, but he’s not following.

  4. Lisa said,

    June 13, 2011 at 2:23 am

    could it be a work harness for a small animal? Probably wrong.

    Wow, who actually gets to see a turtle laying eggs?

    i’ve been fortunate enough to see a turtle that baby size before though. So precious.

    “Poppies! Poppies! Now they’ll sleep” I always remember that line when I see poppies..

    • June 13, 2011 at 8:28 am

      Is that from the Wizard of Oz?

      I actually thought the same thing about the farm tool. That maybe it was for a mule or like Mikey suggested, dogs. Turns out, I know diddly-squat about farm equipment, so it’s probably Thor’s fork.

      For me, that was the smallest turtle I’ve ever seen. I’ve seen some really huge ones, especially the snapping turtles up here, they can be the size of a wheelbarrow, but I’ve never seen one so tiny. It was adorable.

  5. SheBox said,

    June 13, 2011 at 8:33 am

    The first time around was SO frustrating. I uploaded each picture one at a time, and they posted huge, full size on my blog. I couldn’t get my app settings to coincide with my blog settings. I was worried that I would have to transfer the pics onto my computer, resize them, then transfer them back to my phone to upload them. And getting any extra writing in there was next to impossible when I was adding the next picture. Then, I realized I just needed to play with the coding a bit…which led to learning how to fix it! Hence, the second post. I managed to upload all the pics at once into a media group on WP and then sift through the code to change picture sizes and add wording so they would look right. But of course, they uploaded full size, which chewed away at my data availability, so I’m still going to need to resize them on my computer first anyways! Graaaaa!!! At least I didn’t blow anything up!

  6. willowbatel said,

    July 16, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    That moth is delightful. We only have smaller brown moths with orange on their inner wings here. Oh and the white ones that are about as big as a silver dollar and have single black spots on each of their wings.
    Could the rusty thing be used for hanging meats? It’s got the ring on the top of it which makes me think it was hung from somewhere. And the ends are slightly hooked… it’s too small for a cow, but pigs or goats or something maybe?
    The turtles are awesome. I love water creatures. Not alligators or crocodiles though. Or leaches. Blech.


Leave a Reply

