No worries, I’ve got big shoulders

Being a Witch is much more than spells and hocus-pocus. Mainstream society has a very clouded view of Witchcraft, and we as a tradition often contemplate the when and why’s of that clouded view. We’re all well aware of events over the course of history that contributed to our persecution, the arrival of a certain Saint, the Burning Times etc., but what usually causes confusion is why it all happened in the first place.

There was a time when the Witch was the go-to gal of society. A time when lords and kings held a Witch or two in their court. Their purpose was to heal and inform and all manner of authority turned to them for advice and direction. Farmers planted crops by the word of the local Witch. Magistrates collected taxes and Kings waged war, often based on what the Witch saw in Nature. Because let’s face it, Nature is never wrong, Nature never makes mistakes.

It’s Human nature to place blame and responsibility on others, and for the most part, we as a tradition, believe that’s where our persecution began. Along the way, society learned to manipulate, learning new and treacherous ways to place the burdens of responsibility on others. Those who didn’t understand the virtue of Nature then began blaming it, and a game of “shoot the messenger” ensued. Suddenly, anyone who had spent a lifetime learning the signs and sharing them with others was held accountable for every indiscretion and maleficence known to mankind.

Here’s where the irony of it all kicks in, as much as Witchcraft was laid to blame, society continued to feed on the skills of Witches, using the knowledge they provided to further its own endeavors. It’s not fair, dammit! *stomps feet* Just kidding! I know, I know, every culture/religion/race has taken their fair hit from humanity at one point or another.

So what does that mean for a modern day Witch? It means we get a chuckle out of watching society continue to use the skills of the ancient Witch to further its own advancement. It means we sit and watch science and politics and religion claim our talents/rituals/rites of passage as their own. It means our practices carry on, even if only through the unknowing manners of the descendants of our original persecutors. In the end, it means we are an audience to society using Nature to destroy itself one step at a time, piece by tragic piece, in ways Nature never intended.

And when Nature strikes back and affords us a brutal beating, I being a Witch, sit in thankful wonder, while others find someone to blame.

12 Comments

  1. December 30, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    I expect you know I can’t blame you for anything except making me think twice from time to time. Nice to see you take form from out of the frosts again.

    • January 3, 2011 at 7:35 am

      Sadly, there are still folks around who ask if I’ve “hexed” them…they’re the same people who ask me for a herbal when their cough syrup isn’t working.

      Oddly, I find updating from my new gadget far easier than sitting down to my computer…I’m doomed ;P

  2. MDM said,

    December 30, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    hehe…. I love reading this stuff… I have such a hard time putting into words how I feel about being a witch, and societal backlash.. thanks for “doing it for me”.

    • January 3, 2011 at 7:39 am

      LMAO, I guess doing it “for” you is better than doing it “to” you. I’m actually enjoying the process of writing it all out, it gives me a chance to make it all clear to myself again, it’s been awhile since I’ve done that.

  3. jollof said,

    December 31, 2010 at 10:45 am

    The word ‘witch’ is not pleasantly used in my neck of the woods but be assured that I know you do not fit THAT stereotype. Keep doing your thing Shebox…and I’ll probably require some of your services in 2011 😀

    • January 3, 2011 at 7:50 am

      I am your humble servant. Okay, maybe I’m not so humble 😉
      The word is usually the problem for me. I can explain to people who I am and what I do, and they’re okay with it, but the moment I say ” I’m a Witch” people shit themselves.

  4. Lisa said,

    January 7, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    Beautiful post! Sorry I didn’t find it sooner. Which saint was it if I might ask?

  5. Sy said,

    January 11, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    Wicca’d post.

  6. jollof said,

    May 8, 2011 at 4:49 am

    Hey, Shebox! Is this the last post I’ll ever see from you? Where are you hiding these days???

    • May 20, 2011 at 11:58 pm

      My crazy friend! Let’s hope it’s not the last! Life has certainly got in the way as of late, but I’m still around…soon,soon,soon, I hope to be posting with furious abandon. And to think, I used to harp on you for YOUR absence!


Leave a Reply

