First Base

*DISCLAIMER: Over the next little while I am going to attempt a series of posts regarding my faith. Some will find what I write to be an offense to their own thoughts, faiths and religions. Please know that I mean none. It is not my intention to convert, nor enlighten, just simply educate those who’ve shown an interest or an understanding. It is not in my nature to judge my beliefs to be more worthy or correct than any other. My apologies if my explanations seem vague and incomplete, I’m going to try to do this without forsaking my own beliefs and Tradition, which still stands by the sense of secrecy for what we do.  On that note, I’m always, always willing to answer any questions, so don’t be afraid to ask. Any honest query is completely welcomed.

For Lisa, who continues to press play.

And Willow, who likes to get a little “witchy” every now and then.

And those of you who practice according to your own beliefs.

I am a Witch. But I am so far removed from the stereotypical idea of what a Witch is that even other Witches have argued against my right to practice. In umbrella terms I am a Solitary Eclectic Hereditary (this is the common name for my Tradition)  I say umbrella terms because unlike most Witches, who call themselves Dianic, Gardinarian, Wiccan etc., I don’t actually believe in religion of any type. What I do is called Witchcraft,  because that is the only word in the English language that comes remotely close to describing what I do. My beliefs are considered a religion by others, because often those others cannot wrap their heads around the ideas without there being a word to define them.

So for clarity, I do not consider myself a part of any religion, but for ease of understanding I’ll use the word. Some will call me a Pagan, some will call me a Druid, some will even call me a Heretic. Some will say I have Buddhist beliefs, still others will find Hindu traits, Muslim traits, Catholic traits. I would be tempted to tell you that those religions found their traits in mine, hundreds of years ago, and made them their own, but really, it’s not important. My tradition has been around so long, that it really doesn’t matter what umbrella terms others need to give it.

Unlike most religions, Wicca included, my beliefs are void of a God. I do not worship a god or goddess as a great creator or “higher” power. I do use the words Gaia and Mother Earth to represent those things which I  “worship” but in essence, they do not represent an individual entity in my world.

The base belief is that we are all connected, everything in existence is connected in one degree or another to every other thing in existence. You are directly connected at this very moment to several thousand other people whom you will never meet. How you ask? By the computer you are reading my blog on.

Sit for a moment and wonder how many other hands touched your computer during its manufacture. Think beyond its fabrication to the hands that manufactured the products that were used to build your computer. Don’t forget to considered the hands that manufactured the machines used. Go even further back, to the compounds that were created, the plastics, the metals that were used to manufacture the products that were used to fabricate your computer. Don’t forget to consider the hands that built the machines that processed the compounds that went into fabricating your computer. Follow it all the way down to the Earth, from where the petroleum used in the plastics and the ore used in the metals were retrieved. You, by virtue of viewing this weblog, are connected to the Earth and all of the people involved in putting this very moment together. Not only the people, but the Sun, the Moon, the Waters and everything in between. Without any single one of them, you would not be experiencing this moment exactly as it is happening right now. This is the core of my beliefs. We are all connected, we are all a piece of the whole, we are unified. This is what I worship. In a nutshell.

For me, Nature (the Nature of things, not just leaves and bees and wildlife ) is the be all and the end all, there is nothing greater.

The “how” is another story, for another day.

In the near future : Round and Round and Round We Go, The Cycles of My Life (or something along those lines)

12 Comments

  1. MDM said,

    October 18, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    I only skimmed for now, as I am on my phone and will post more when I get home, but geez you sound a lot like me! More in a bit.

    Melanie

    • October 18, 2010 at 8:39 pm

      Yep, I knew you’d be able to relate! 😀

      • MDM said,

        October 21, 2010 at 10:09 pm

        I think we were “sisters” separated at birth LOL Your beliefs sound VERY similar to mine. I have venerated Gaia for a long time (named my cat Gaia just for kicks). My wife and I actually had a hand-fasting when we were married, and she is similar to me in her belief system but believes in god, but I guess a “different” sort. I feel Gaia in the physical is the trees, the wind, etc… but, like you, the nature OF things.

        • October 22, 2010 at 8:29 pm

          I would have loved to have had a handfasting, but, my husband is not a Witch so we opted for a non-denominational ceremony and just did it civically. I say he is not a Witch, because he doesn’t practice, but we share the same beliefs. He’s in denial…lol. I always tease him about coming out of the broom closet.
          I agree about the trees and the wind etc. they’re representative of Gaia in it’s most pure, most natural form.

  2. Mindless Rambler said,

    October 19, 2010 at 4:16 am

    I enjoyed this post, thank you for taking the time to write it and indeed share your beliefs. It was very interesting and I look forward to any more that you choose to do xx

  3. Pie said,

    October 19, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    Excellent work, SBC. This is just what I expected. Thank you so much. Do you not think that if more people were to live with this realisation of their connectedness, they’d be less inclined to hurt each other? I wait in anticipation for part two.

    • October 22, 2010 at 8:19 pm

      Yes Pie, I think you’re right, if more people found a sense of connectedness they would be less likely to harm each other, and possibly, it would be easier for them to find peace inside themselves. I’m glad you and I can reach across the seas.

  4. willowbatel said,

    October 21, 2010 at 12:25 am

    I’m so glad you’re finally opening up enough to give us a good look at your practices. I’ve always found your “religion” fascinating.
    “Mother Earth” is the term I use most often when doing what little energy work I do. I think of Mother Earth as everything on the planet. Mother Earth is the connection which all of those things share. It is a collective force that gives and takes, and controls and is subject to life. At least that is how I view it.
    I can’t wait to read your future posts.

    • October 22, 2010 at 8:21 pm

      Slowly, slowly, Willow. I hope in time I can find a way to let you and everyone into my weird little world without crossing any boundries. You’ll be able to relate very easily, I’m sure. You and I feel much the same way about things.

  5. Lisa said,

    October 23, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    OMG I missed this one! Reading now! Thank you!!!!!

  6. Lisa said,

    October 23, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Well, I can’t say I disagree on the whole “everything is connected” idea at all. Even animals have different personalities (or maybe I’m just around my cats too much), but it seems the world functions in a harmony and we all serve a purpose in the great chain of things. The food chain, empathy, the sun shining and providing life to the plants which provides the air we breathe, etc. Yep, that’s right on the money. And thank you for giving me a dedication too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

