Fabulous Fall Fungi

Mushrooms and fungi are members of one of my favorite kingdoms in nature. They’re a world all their own, unlike plants, animals and humans. The cellular structure of fungi is individual from other kingdoms and is fascinating all on its own. There are about 100,000 species of fungi, some edible and some poisonous enough to kill with a single bite. I took my camera on a walk around the property with Sara this morning and we found some really great fungi. It would be nice to learn more about them, to be able to identify them and harvest them for food, but it can be a really dangerous endeavour so we’ll leave it to the professionals for now.

7 Comments

  1. Lisa said,

    October 16, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    Lovely pics!

    • October 18, 2010 at 12:37 pm

      Why, thank you Miss! I have a really great pic of Lilliput that I think you just might like. She was giving kisses to the camera.
      Lilliput

      • Lisa said,

        October 23, 2010 at 3:09 pm

        She is soooooo darling!!! thank you!

  2. Mindless Rambler said,

    October 17, 2010 at 6:55 am

    Fantastic photos!

    • October 18, 2010 at 12:32 pm

      Much thanks!
      I just realized that your blog is not coming through on my feedburner (I had thought you just hadn’t been around for awhile) I see now that you’ve been writing and I must go catch up! And fix my feed!

  3. willowbatel said,

    October 21, 2010 at 12:30 am

    Those are all gorgeous. You’re so lucky to have such things in your life. In my neighborhood you’re lucky if you get a single mushroom in your yard. But all of my neighbors hate them. We got a four foot long arc of some species of mushroom that sprouted up randomly in the grass. My neighbors tried to kill the small patch that appeared in their lawn, but we left ours alone. They’re too pretty to try and yank out!

    • October 22, 2010 at 8:24 pm

      When we lived in the city, all of our neighbours were the same. It was considered bad courtesy to leave the mushrooms on the lawn. I don’t know why, I think they’re fascinating. Some of these in the pictures have grown really big in the last week, but they’re starting to die off now because it’s getting so cold. We had snow today and yesterday!


Leave a Reply

