Randomness

Just some random photos from the summer, in no particular order of importance…

An angry Thing One, flapping and squawking because I shooed her off the deck

Sunset at the lake.

Storm clouds bringing in three days of rain.

If you're caught running around in nothing but your Wellies, you might be a redneck. This is my 2 year old Godson, Riley.

Hubby builds a new twig fence, to keep the chickens out of the front yard.

At this time of year, the gardens are covered in Monarchs.

A rather spooky fog rolls into the marsh across from our house.

It almost looked more like a bed of snow.

The escape artists get a treat.

I swear, whoever gets out first opens the gate for the rest.

Riley paints a masterpiece...

...On the inside of the chicken coop door, with a corn broom and the mud in the wheelbarrow.

Drew learns to recover the "Topper"

The boys give Sara the lowdown on how to be a working sailor.

The kids take their first independent voyage aboard "The Mandy Patinkin".

Riley and Sara pick blackberries...enough for 16 pints of jam!

One for the mouse, one for the crow. One to plant, one to grow. And one for the chipmunk. They like blackberries too.

The newest member of the family. We deliberated for about a month between a Tundra and a Chevy Camaro. Sensibility won out. But we've promised each other to have a mid life crisis in a few years, and THEN buy the Camaro!

13 Comments

  1. MDM said,

    September 1, 2010 at 12:52 am

    Wow, some of the pics were really beautiful! Sometimes I miss not getting out to nature more. 😦 Thanks for sharing though.

    Melanie Dawn

    • September 1, 2010 at 11:10 pm

      Thank you Melanie! Maybe you SHOULD just show up uninvited! I’ll show you all the nature you can handle!

      • Melanie said,

        September 7, 2010 at 3:21 pm

        Woot! I might take you up on that. lol

        Mel

  2. Pie said,

    September 1, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    This is where you live?! Your pictures are fabulous. You named your boat Mandy Patinkin. One of your favourite actors, is he? I quite like him myself. I don’t know about a Camaro, but I like the look of the truck you have.

    • September 1, 2010 at 11:07 pm

      Thanks Pie! Where the kids are sailing is actually down a large river that passes by my aunt’s house, but yes, the rest of the pics are at our house, or the surrounding area. The truck like I said, was the sensible choice. We’re not sure how well a Camaro would fare in our rough northern winters, when there is 4 feet of snow on the ground…besides, you can’t haul firewood in a Camaro!…lol

  3. willowbatel said,

    September 2, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    The scenery at your house is absolutely amazing. There’s nothing like that around here at all. SUPER jealous, again.
    Do you do anything special for the monarchs? I really wanted to get a few milkweed plants for them, because we’ll get one through the yard occasionally, and I find them really pretty.

    • September 6, 2010 at 8:01 pm

      I have a lot of sedum and perennial phlox planted Willow, they love anything with a nectar, like the hummingbirds. Both the hummingbirds and the monarchs LOVE the phlox. In the picture of the monarchs, that’s “autumn joy” sedum they’re sitting on. That plant is about 4 feet across and usually covered in monarchs. Phlox is really easy to grow too. I think milkweed is really pretty also, but sometimes it’s hard to control.

      • willowbatel said,

        September 8, 2010 at 1:26 am

        I’ll have to look into the Sedum. I’m sure my mom will understand if we have to buy more plants. Lol. We have several phlox, but I have yet to see them on one. The only flower I’ve ever seen them land on is the Gay Feather. The bumble bees really like it too.

  4. Lisa said,

    September 4, 2010 at 4:42 am

    Beautiful photos! I’m especially partial to the goat though.

    • September 6, 2010 at 8:02 pm

      Thanks Lisa….she is a cutey, you’d love her, she’s so friendly, she’s better companionship than the dog sometimes.

  5. Andrew said,

    September 8, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Oh, God, that wasn’t good looking, even on me (referring to your naked Godson) and I’m a boy. Anyways, nice pictures, wonder how you load that much up. Lol. Nice blog.

  6. MDM said,

    September 28, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    off the subject here a bit, you ok? haven’t heard from you in awhile, and frankly i worry 😛

    Melanie

    • October 2, 2010 at 9:51 pm

      Thank you Melanie, I’m okay…not exactly great, but it will pass. Thank you for missing me, and worrying, ironically, it made me feel better.


Leave a Reply

