All in due time…

Ah, summer is winding down. Perhaps now I will be able to find the time for the calmer things in life, such as blogging.

It’s been well over a month since I was afforded the time to spend a day at my computer reading and writing, there’s a lot to catch up on.

Our summer has been, in a word, busy. It was filled with triumphs and failures, friends, family and fun.

How ’bout a ten-day long family reunion to reaffirm your views on life?

How’bout coming home from said reunion to find that the livestock had not only nibbled at your life’s work, but ate the ENTIRE crop?  Yep, the biggest failure of the summer, by far,  was the fencing for Lilliput and the chickens. It gave way to a smorgasbord of leafy greens and red-wigglers. There isn’t a lettuce head to be found, nor a single worm left in the vermicompost pile. One might think the livestock were left unattended, but no, they’re just very capable escape artists.

On a brighter note, the kids are well on their way to mastering a sailboat, which in this family is a worthy accomplishment, and my studio has been reclaimed. It has been freed of any adult children in residence, been given a fresh coat of paint and some new cabinets, and once again stands available for inspiration. I’m eager to make use of the blank canvases lying in wait, and the bolts of fabrics neatly stacked, and of course, the inks and paints that have not stained my hands in months.

I’m excited about the time ahead. The children will be returning to school in a few short weeks. The heat of summer will abate soon, leaving me free to crank up the oven and although there won’t be much canning/preserving done this fall, I’m still looking forward to the season.

But first, I’ll spend any free time catching up with some treasured folks. You. You’re like that “good book” I’m just itching to get back to. The one waiting patiently on the bedside table for the day to wind down.

10 Comments

  1. MDM said,

    August 18, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    wow what a summer… mine has been, shall we say, less than eventful… but it picks up huge on friday 😀

    • August 18, 2010 at 10:23 pm

      Hehehe! I’m looking forward to details!

      • MDM said,

        August 19, 2010 at 1:39 pm

        I will let ya know tomorrow afternoon, i don’t want to get ahead of myself…I’m sure if everything goes according to plan there will be a big post on my blog 😀

  2. willowbatel said,

    August 19, 2010 at 3:19 am

    I’m glad to hear you got the worm pile started. I can’t remember if you’d gotten it going before your absents. Either way, sorry to hear it was eaten. I’m sure you ate bacon and eggs for breakfast for quite sometime after though, lol.
    A sailboat, ooo. Don’t tell me you salvaged THAT from the dump too? If you managed that, I really will have to move out to your area.
    I’m glad to hear from you again. But just so I’m sure you understand that, I think I’ll say it once more, lol.
    Good to hear from you again.

  3. Lisa said,

    August 20, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    It’s great you are back! I missed you.

    • August 30, 2010 at 5:52 pm

      Thanks Lisa….I will be trolling your blog later tonight I hope…well maybe trolling isn’t the right word. What I mean to say is I’ll be reading every missed letter.

  4. pienbiscuits said,

    August 27, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    And I’ll be waiting for more of your entries… when you get the time to write them.

  5. jollof said,

    August 28, 2010 at 4:55 am

    Hey Shebox, its you’re old friendly neighborhood Crazynigerian 😀

    I had no idea you hadn’t blogged in a while. I love those die-hard escapist chickens! Pity about your harvest though…

    I’ve spent most of my summer studying for some professional exams which I concluded on August 22nd. I’ve also landed myself new job starting in September! It’s time to get back to what I love doing as well…L8r

    • August 30, 2010 at 5:54 pm

      Hello my fine fellow!!! How nice to come back and find a comment from you!
      Happy to hear things are well, congrats on the new job. Have you been posting? Must go lurk your blog tonight as well!


Leave a Reply

