One for the mouse, one for the crow. One to rot, one to grow.

Seed prep day! One of the best days of my year!

I love playing in the dirt, today was spent making my personal recipe for dirt batter. Not that it’s spectacular or original…but it’s free!

First step: sifting some top grade Canadian sphagnum to get a nice fine fill for the seed plug trays.

Time consuming, but truly the best way to loosen up the peat, meaning more of it in the plug, less sticks and bark.

LOOSE! *Warning* – it is hazardous to the health to breathe in powdered peat.

Yay! Composted sheep shit. Sifted of course. Properly composted manure has no smell…no smell means it shouldn’t burn plant roots. Chicken shit is the best, but takes FOREVER to compost.

A luscious crumb topping.

Toss in a couple handfuls of exploded vermiculite…okay, this wasn’t free.

Ready to fill. These are my seeding trays, which were free and are the absolute best thing I’ve ever encountered in my life of plants. Each tray holds over 200 seed plugs. Seed plugs, rather then their big brother, seed cells, are the thing that works for me. They take up less space, create a stronger root ball and are all-round more productive. Less dirt required per seed and it means I can get over 400 seedlings in under one lamp.

DUMP!

and SPREAD!

After a light spritzing I tamp down the peat mix. Looks like a monotonous project, yes. But, it’s very therapeutic and with some grand tunes thumping on the iPod, one can turn it into a work-out.

Yes, I use an AfterBite pen. Works perfect and it’s fitting, don’t you think?

And Voila! Two of the dirtiest hands in the neighbourhood and a bazillion seed plugs ready to nurture life.

I started seeding the trays tonight, got the peppers, tomatoes, broccoli and cauliflower done, along with a few random herb plugs.

Tomorrow, the onion sets go in the kitchen garden at the side of the house, along with the lettuces, carrots, and  peas. If I have the time and energy, I’ll get the rest of the seeds started. Hope there’s no mosquitoes out tomorrow, I’m sleeping with my fingers crossed.

2 Comments

  1. willowbatel said,

    April 12, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    Where do you have room for all of those?! Oh that’s right, you’re not confined to a small yard like I am. Once again, I’m jealous.
    You take a lot more prepping for your seeds lol. I just grab some compost, dig a hole, and stick them in. I’m not very nice to my plants compared to you.
    I wish I could say my hands got dirty today too. But alas, they did not. Good luck with all of those plants; can’t wait for pictures!

  2. April 13, 2010 at 11:53 am

    It’s delightful to read about these kinds of activities I know nada about. I have pals that farm and some that just garden, but there’s no Earth in my chart.


Leave a Reply

