} Sláinte

Today marks a religious holiday of sorts, for many people around the world. St. Patrick’s Day has come to symbolize many different things, for many different people, not all of them true to meaning, but more often then not, celebratory to most. As always on this day, there’s plenty of action and excitement, everyone’s wearing green and sporting shamrocks, the news is advertising local events, blogs are full of those who are looking forward to today’s festivities. People are excited!

Except me.

To some, St. Patrick’s Day represents St. Patrick “driving the snakes from Ireland”. To others, St. Patrick’s Day represents a celebration of Irish culture.  To still others, St. Patrick is not important, Palladius should get all the credit.

To me, St. Patrick’s Day is a reminder of what was lost.  Ancestors, higher teachings, landmarks, and history.

I was taught as a child to be thankful for the sacrifices others have made before me, as they make life as I know it possible.  I was taught to use oppression and suppression to make me stronger,  and to forgive persecution, for as your Christ says, “they know not what they do”. I am thankful, and full of forgiveness.

Being an hereditary witch, St. Patrick’s Day is not a day of celebration for me, it is a day of mourning. Pinch me all you want, I’m not wearing green.

 

10 Comments

  1. willowbatel said,

    March 18, 2010 at 12:42 am

    To be honest, they don’t actually teach anything about St. Patrick’s Day in school. All I know is that St. Pat hid books from some bad people, but I don’ think they ever found the books… Honestly I have no idea.

  2. March 18, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    Yeah, I know, and it’s a bit sad in a way…it’s one of those readily accepted things in life…but, I think your day in school is long enough, nevermind cramming in all the stuff *I* think you should learn!…lol. [St. Patrick (or Palladius, whichever) began the conversion of people like me to Christianity in Ireland, almost bringing an end to my culture. It wasn’t a happy time and it brought on things such as Witch hunts and trials.]

  3. willowbatel said,

    March 18, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    You know what? I’m going to bug my world history teacher when I see him on Monday. And whether he likes it or not, he will be teaching us a whole lesson about St. Patrick’s day lol. They cram a bunch of useless knowledge into us too. I did manage to find something useful to do with an equation in math today, but the only things I use outside of school normally are… well only science I guess. It’s a shame.

    • March 19, 2010 at 10:22 am

      Let me know what he says! His response will probably be peppered by his individual religion or beliefs.
      I’ve never understood the point of some of the stuff in school. I think it should be selective. My youngest son is in his first year of highschool and he spent the first month of his civics class learning how to wash his hair…and it was all part of the mandatory curriculum, like WTF?

  4. willowbatel said,

    March 20, 2010 at 1:58 am

    Hahahahahaha. He had to learn to wash his hair as part of the mandatory curriculum? How bad is the school he goes to that they need to teach personal hygiene as part of history? Unless that somehow ties into how people were getting sick all the time during wars and such, I don’t see how that’s useful.
    It’s things like that that made me want to try online schooling. My mom and I are going to Bellevue (community) College tomorrow to listen to some informational stuff about “Running Start.” It’s a program offered by the district that allows students from the high schools to go to the college and take college classes for both high school and college credits. An 11 week course is equivalent to a year in high school. It’ll be tough.

    • March 20, 2010 at 1:35 pm

      Isn’t that pathetic? I have no idea why the school spent time on hairwashing. The civics class had a bunch of really ridiculous crap in it. The highschool’s not so bad, but it’s the only one within a one hour driving distance, so ya never know! lol
      I homeschooled the two youngest kids for a year once, made me wish I had always homeschooled ALL of the kids the whole time. Good luck with the Bellevue program. My oldest daughter participated in something similar her last year of highschool. She completed her last year of HS and her first year of college all at the same time in about 6 months so she was a year and a half ahead of the game when she was done. It worked out great for her.

  5. timethief said,

    March 21, 2010 at 12:52 am

    Wow! The more I get to know you the more commonalities I find. I am a green witch, a Hedge Witch of Irish ancestry. I heal animals with plants. We do not celebrate At. Patrick’s Day. To us it is a day of mourning.

    • March 21, 2010 at 5:42 pm

      This is good to know! I’m Hereditary Eclectic, with strong leanings towards both Green and Hedge. Are you hereditary, or converted?

  6. March 21, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Actually, Padraig embraced many pagan customs and traditions he had learned to respect when he was a slave, and enfolded them into Irish Christianity before the Jesuits. He agreed with the druids about being in tune with and respecting all of nature, and his style of conversion was loving unlike the later church. The early Celtic Christians were far more inclusive than the variety crusading forth from Rome, and they still are especially in the rural districts. The Green Man and Patrick are not enemies.

    • March 21, 2010 at 5:09 pm

      Yes, you’re absolutely right. And many Pagan customs and traditions have been assimilated into Christianity altogether. I did not mean to imply that I held St. Patrick (Padraig) personally responsible, although reading back it does appear that way. Sort of just contributed to the preconceived misconceptions I’m complaining about, didn’t I? To be honest, it’s just a little worm of spite that slips out every now and then when I feel like I’m watching the festivities from the other side of the fence. Especially on St. Patrick’s day, which is considered a day of mourning in my Tradition. Thank you for your input, as it’s always insightful, and always welcome!


Leave a Reply

