} One man’s trash…

Saturday was my bi-weekly (I say that as if I only go every two weeks) trip to the dump. The dump in our town is my Mecca, my Mother-Land, my treasure haven. I can’t even begin to describe the joy I find rummaging through the dump.

The season is coming, tourist season. The season when the cottagers come north to open their summer homes, to bask in the shade of enormous Douglas Firs and Sugar Maples. This is the season when cottagers will make endless trips to the dump, hauling junk they brought up with them last year from their year-round homes down south. The cycle is endless, repeating itself year after year….buy new stuff for year-round home, bring old stuff north, take last year’s old stuff to the dump to make room for this year’s old stuff. It’s a fun time for scavengers such as myself.

When we drove into the dump this past Saturday a group of gentlemen were standing around a trailer full of goodness, including Dwayne, the dump attendant. As I got out of the truck Dwayne turned to the group of strangers and said “Don’t bother unloading, she’s here”. It seems he had been talking about me to these fellas, explaining that he knew a woman who would just eat up all the stuff in the trailer, no need to push it over the edge. And here I was.

The owner of the trailer turned to me and asked if I was “the project lady”. He then began to “sell” me on his wares, explaining what the various items were, as if their prior life would hold some bearing on their future life. Here we have a birdhouse, which, with some sanding and a good cleaning, a few tack nails and a coat of paint would make a great addition to the yard. I began to explain to the fella that nothing will be as it seems when I am done with it. This here birdhouse is a fabulous base for an occasional table in my dining room. Which is what it will become once I have a piece of glass cut for it. It might get sanded, it might get cleaned up, but I quite like it, just the way it is, nests and all.

On the other side of the trailer was the metal work for one of those gazebo type things you might find at a big box store like Lowe’s or Home Depot. He had a bag with all the nuts and bolts and assured me that I could probably find canvas for the roof at the marine shop in town. I took the bag of nuts and bolts, not because I intend on building a gazebo on the deck, but because one can never have too many nuts and bolts. The rails I took because my brain wouldn’t shut up. Perhaps there’s a bench in their future, perhaps one will find itself plunked in a garden with a Jackman Clematis clinging to it for dear life. It’s possible the four units will just find themselves decorating the chicken’s pen. Can you see them backed with long sheets of Washi paper? Would make excellent window coverings for the bay window in the dining room.

As we pulled out of the dump, another truck was pulling in, with yet another trailer full of stuff. I took a moment to curb my enthusiasm.

On the way home, Paul told me we needed to make a second trip to the dump, there were more scraps from the bathroom reno that needed to go. Imagine my excitement.

Before I even got out of the truck the second time, there were already people strolling towards me with treasures in their hands. The conversation about me had continued in my absence, my reputation spreading. I declined a 5 foot plastic snowman but was enthralled by a handful of vintage books.

I came home with a 50-year-old copy of Little Bear Visits by Else Holmelund Minark.

And a pristine, copy of When We Were Very Young by A. A. Milne, a collection of verses  about Christopher Robin pre-Winnie The Pooh.

The day before our double trip to the dump, Kayla and Bill informed us that they were taking a trip to my “Disneyland”. I told them to bring me back a souvenir. An ice-bucket that will get a coat of paint to become a catchall for kitchen scraps for the chickens and a set of snowshoes, makes for a happy score.

13 Comments

  1. March 16, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    […] you remember the icebucket from this morning? The one the kids brought home for me from the Disneyland Dump? Today it became a bin for the kitchen counter, one we can put scraps in to carry out to the […]

  2. willowbatel said,

    March 16, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    Why on Earth would you get rid of books at the DUMP?! I love love love old books. I have some of my grandmothers/great-grandmothers books in my room. They may belong to my mom, but I’ll be holding onto the for a while.
    I really want to visit our dump now. My aunt will go sometimes and find some rather neat things. Maybe next time she goes I’ll tag along.

    • March 16, 2010 at 8:26 pm

      I know, right?? I find books there all the time. I don’t know why people throw them out…the least they could do is donate them to a children’s centre or something! Hang on to those books! They’re part of your history! Everytime you flip a page, you’ll be seeing through your grandmother’s eyes.
      The dump is a great place to investigate, I heartily suggest you make a trip with your aunt in the near future.

  3. willowbatel said,

    March 16, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    Oh yes I love old things. I have a walking stick (it’s the only old thing I personally own) that is hand carved with a hand carved owl at the top. Found it at a thrift shop for $20.
    I’m going to ask my mom tomorrow if we can go the dump on Sunday, haha. We’re going to my other aunt’s house on Saturday, so that’ll be perfect. I can make it a family outing. My mother will hate me for it haha. We’re kind of a hording family. If you want to throw something away, you need permission from the other two sisters, lol.

    • March 17, 2010 at 7:06 am

      Awesome, make sure you let me know if you find anything good!
      I’m a hoarder too, but you wouldn’t know it by looking around, because I’m very good at stashing stuff in Paul’s garage! LOL.

      • willowbatel said,

        March 17, 2010 at 11:39 pm

        Hahaha I told my mom about going to the dump and she said that we’re not allowed to anymore. I guess too many people went and got sick and then sued the city because they got sick while going through garbage. Did you think it was going to be clean garbage? Anyway, that dream may have been put on hold, but I did slightly convince her to let me paint the worm bucket! I told her about the snow angel and the worm halo and she just laughed at me and asked me where I came up with that. I made up some lie about worm heaven or something like that.

        • March 18, 2010 at 12:42 pm

          Oh nooooo! That’s too bad. Grahhh, why do some bad apples have to wreck it for the whole bunch? Well, at least you’ve got your bucket to work on! I reallyreallyreally hope you do the snowangel! That freaking rocks….lol….your poor mom!!

          • willowbatel said,

            March 18, 2010 at 9:06 pm

            I’m still going to go next time my aunt does though. Someone is always doing a big project in our family, so it won’t be too long before someone has to go to the dump. And when they do; I’ll go with.
            My mom doesn’t think we can paint it because it’s plastic. It’s a smooth/shiny plastic. I’ll have to ask my aunt next time I see her; she’s forever doing something involving paint or sewing for school productions. I hope I can do something with it though because it’d be the best inside joke. I’d have to keep myself from laughing every time I saw it.

            • March 19, 2010 at 10:33 am

              There are paints out there specifically for plastics….Krylon Fusion works well and Rust-oleum has a paint for plastic too. If you use a coloured plastic primer paint or a flat paint, then you should be able to just use acrylic to paint the snowangel. My icebucket is plastic too, I used Tremclad flat black primer, then painted the design with basic Folk-Art acrylic paint, and covered the whole thing with a couple coats of exterior varnish. If your bucket’s really shiny you can take a bit of sandpaper to it and scuff it up a bit. I have so many “to-do” projects on my agenda for this summer, I’m going to be one busy lady! I spent all winter collecting things, and all I’ve really collected is a WHOLE lotta work for myself!…lol

    • willowbatel said,

      March 20, 2010 at 2:12 am

      See that sounds like a lot of work lol. Well it certainly isn’t on the top of my list. I’ve got plenty of other things to do already, and I manage to add more to my list everyday.
      I can’t wait to see what all it is that you create. Pictures are mandatory!

      • March 20, 2010 at 1:50 pm

        Of course I’ll post pics! Don’t get your hopes up though…I’m rather lazy by nature!

  4. March 19, 2010 at 3:28 am

    Hello from Ukraine !

    I like this your Blog !

    But please, say me that never again books will be taken to the trash, never, send them me, I will pay you for them, whatever their topic, books are my life !

    Sincerely,

    Marina.

    • March 19, 2010 at 10:57 am

      Hi Marina! And Welcome!
      It is sad to see books in the trash, I try to rescue as many of them as I can!
      Take care!


Leave a Reply

