} Beautiful Garbage

 

 

Do you remember the icebucket from this morning? The one the kids brought home for me from the Disneyland Dump? Today it became a bin for the kitchen counter, one we can put scraps in to carry out to the chickens. Being an ice bucket, it’s air tight with the lid on, so if it gets left full on the counter for a day or two, it won’t stink the place up!

 

 

Here it is now, after a little bit of paint, some elbow grease, and a power tool.

 

Three coats of flat black paint, followed by two coats of antique white acrylic. I had considered using a crackle medium on the white square but since Kayla had given me the icebucket and she hates when I use crackle medium because she thinks it’s below me (rolls eyes) I decided against it.

Two coats of varnish and it’s all done! I love the egg handle!

5 Comments

  1. willowbatel said,

    March 16, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    I like what you’ve done with it, but I also like what it looked like before. What you’ve done looks really nice though, and it looks like it was pretty easy to do. I wonder if I could manage something like that for our compost bucket…

    • March 16, 2010 at 8:22 pm

      Super easy to do. The drying time between coats is the most painstaking part of the whole process. If your compost bucket is plastic, you can spray it with a can of resin spray that’s used for patio furniture. If it’s metal or wood, you can use Tremclad primer (I used Tremclad black primer (flat) because I knew I was going to varnish it afterwards) The coloured primer gives you a solid base for painting, and adds colour at the same time (so you get to skip a step)

  2. willowbatel said,

    March 16, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Mines just a little plastic thing. I’ll post a picture tomorrow maybe. Hmm… how am I going to bring about all of these projects without my mom being suspicious? Oh I know; I’m always trying to start new projects. Ok so resin spray. I’ll try to remember that. What design should I do? Maybe a snow angel, hahaha.

    • March 17, 2010 at 7:01 am

      HAHAHAHA! Make sure you give that snowangel a glittery gold halo! Do a design that will match the kitchen….or you could do something worm related!

  3. willowbatel said,

    March 17, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    I’ve got it! I’ll make a snow angel and the halo will be a worm. No one in my house will know what I’m talking about; it’ll be perfect.
    Our kitchen is white and the cupboards are brown; the bucket blends as is.


Leave a Reply

