} Change is inevitable.

This time last year, my world was covered in a waist deep layer of snow. I came home from a trip to Florida last year, in May, and still found snow on the ground. This year, it looks as if there will be green grass in time for Ostara. This is a good thing.

It is still cold, although the past few days I’ve been able to stand on the deck in a sweater. First thing in the morning is my favorite time, and the deck is the best place to spend that time. One sees the world in a different light. Literally. The Sun casts glints across the land like a highlighter, showcasing all of those things you would take for granted at midday. Everything around seems to take a moment to  just “be”. This is happiness.

There is so much peace before the day starts. I find myself in a comfortable place, and although I forgot how comfortable my place in life is when I woke up this morning, I was surely reminded of it during my time on the deck. If the energy is such that a deer, one of the most neurotic and skittish beings on the land, can curl up and make itself comfortable, then something must be right.  I see plenty of deer on our land on a daily basis, and am encouraged that the novelty of seeing them has not worn off for me like so many other people in my situation. But seeing one comfortable enough to make itself vulnerable by laying down in the grass in my yard is a lesson in humility.

 

Pair that with a lesson in fascination and intrigue from a 20 month old child, whose first encounter with a ladybird was as gentle as the morning breeze, and you’ve got yourself the makings of an awakening.

2 Comments

  1. micahman1993 said,

    March 13, 2010 at 2:37 am

    Good blog. Adorable child! I finally posted a new blog. You might want to give it a look!

    Blessings,

    -Micah A.

    http://micahman1993.wordpress.com/

  2. willowbatel said,

    March 14, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    Everytime you post a picture of your yard, I’m envious. You have a creek running through your place? Ugh, so rude. Lol.
    The sun does seem to have a way of putting things in a new light. Looking at things in a new perspective does help a lot though.


Leave a Reply

