} 100 ways to be Happy

In my quest to complete my list, here’s number 83,

  1. The first pop of daffodils through the snow.
  2. The way Drew says “Thank you” more than anyone I know.
  3. The smell of fresh baked bread.
  4. All of my kids looking like their father.
  5. Portia curling up in my lap when she knows I’m in a bad mood.
  6. Semi-sweet chocolate chips.
  7. Thunderstorms that stop your heart.
  8. Being scared shitless by a child who just wants to see you laugh.
  9. Catching a glimpse of the unexpected.
  10. Hearing Riley call my name.
  11. A good, hearty sneeze.
  12. Overhearing a compliment that I wasn’t meant to hear.
  13. A stack of fresh paper.
  14. Hearing Kayla say I’m her hero.
  15. Having my feet tickled.
  16. The way sunlight shines through my glass vase collection.
  17. Cashing in on a windfall.
  18. Seeing by the light of the Moon.
  19. Having a well thought out plan come to fruition.
  20. Having the last word.
  21. The way Alex understands me the most, but mis-understands me in general.
  22. Sara’s flaming red hair.
  23. The smell of Paul, and his garage.
  24. The smell of his garage, on Paul.
  25. The “braap, braap” of a snowmobile.
  26. Apologies.
  27. Finding cash in the pocket of a coat I haven’t worn in a year.
  28. The smell of a newborn.
  29. Laughing so hard I end up with a headache.
  30. Knowing the family will eat my burnt cookies.
  31. Cracking the spine on a new book.
  32. Finding a deal big enough to blow a paycheque on.
  33. Puddle jumping.
  34. PB&J on fresh vienna bread.
  35. A whole box of Kraft Dinner to myself.
  36. Beating the bears to the blueberries.
  37. The chickens doing what they’re told.
  38. Hanging laundry on the line outside.
  39. Seeing the bats take off, one at a time.
  40. Watching a murder of crows fly overhead.
  41. Having an answer for everything.
  42. Paul and I holding hands like teenagers.
  43. Falling in love with a character in a new book.
  44. Planting seeds to sustain life.
  45. My stained hands as a conversation starter.
  46. The smell of paper.
  47. Completing a piece of art.
  48. When my life plays out as predicted.
  49. Being completely understood by a stranger.
  50. Silly family traditions.
  51. Finding a new muse.

I’m halfway there. What makes YOU happy, and how’s YOUR list coming along?

13 Comments

  1. willowbatel said,

    March 3, 2010 at 2:58 am

    Omg bread smells sooo good.
    Thunderstorms are the coolest! I like the crazy loud ones that dump buckets and have lightning crackling through the sky every other second.
    Love the moon. It’s pretty in every stage of the cycle.
    I’d love to put up a bat house; they’re so fun to watch. Plus being so far into the city means I probably won’t see many so having my own community of bats would be neat.
    I love falling in love with the characters in books. They’re what make books so special.

  2. March 3, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    46. The smell of paper.: you stole my idea! The smell of old books and the sounds as my fingers flip through the pages and it *cracks cracks*.

    If I may add another one: listening to the soulful voice of lenny kravitz singing a retro love rock song on a rainy day.

    • March 4, 2010 at 10:15 am

      I am a paper hoarder! I have thousands of sheets of paper in my studio…I am after all a paper artist! We once had the value of the paper in my studio appraised at $30,000 for insurance purposes! If anyone ever lit a match in there, the whole place would go WHOOSH in a heartbeat.

  3. sckgrl said,

    March 5, 2010 at 1:39 am

    I found your blog browsing the forums.
    I read your latest “list” and had to giggle when I read number 11. A good, hearty sneeze.

    Ain’t that the truth.

    Looking forward to perusing some more!
    😀

    • March 5, 2010 at 7:42 am

      Thanks for stopping by! Doesn’t a good sneeze just make you feel all free and relieved? ‘Specially if you’ve been trying to get it out for a minute or two!

  4. webmistress said,

    March 5, 2010 at 10:54 am

    3.The smell of fresh baked bread.

    When I was little we lived up the street from a bakery, the smell of freshly baked goods was looked forward to daily, hated it when we moved, but the scent of baked bread stayed with me for years to come.

    18.Seeing by the light of the Moon

    The moon has a magical feel to it, alluring and enchanting, a pleasant glow upon the grass or dirt.
    I`ve always felt drawn in by the light of the moon.

    • March 5, 2010 at 11:04 am

      Being so close to the smell of fresh baked bread on such a regular basis would have driven me nuts! I would just want to eat and eat and eat! I know when I bake here at home, I have to be VERY careful not to overindulge…lol.
      I think the Moon is fascinating. We have a high-powered telescope, it’s just amazing how bright it looks when you can bring it in close.

  5. webmistress said,

    March 6, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    I agree with you totally about both, unfortunately I DID overindulge on breads of all types for a short time, now when it come to the moon i`ve starred at it forever at times over the years wondering how something so beautiful is so far away, yet seems so close and can only be seen at night.

  6. jollof said,

    March 8, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    I can totally relate to no.27 – though, the money (about $30 worth) was in my shoe which I hadn’t worn for a year. Dont ask…I went to this nite club and for some strange reason I felt the urge to hide some money in safe place in case I got pickpocketed. I only found it because I decided to do some spring cleaning 2months ago! That was money well spent!!!

    • March 12, 2010 at 10:06 am

      $30! That’s awesome!….lol…do you remember what you spent it on? See, it DOES pay to do spring cleaning!

  7. webmistress said,

    March 13, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Please deliver me all 100 ways to be happy + a few more for good measure, i`ll be expecting that in my mail box soon. Hopefully the mail man does’nt deliver it to somebody else.

  8. March 29, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    […] 10. What Makes You Smile? List at least 10 items. I have a list of things that make me happy, posted here. […]

  9. webmistress said,

    March 29, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    this yet one of my favorite posts here, plenty to read over a hot cup of jow in the morning before work


Leave a Reply

