} An oldie, but a goodie

I sat down and started to type, and began with something like “I’ve been going full tilt boogie for the last 2 days”,  when it struck me. I haven’t listened to Janis Joplin in like, freaking ages. Last time I did, she made me cry. But that’s not why I stopped typing what I was typing and started thinking about all the “famous” people I’ve come in contact with over my  life. Like Ken Pearson, ala, the Full Tilt Boogie Band, ala Janis Joplin. Although, I don’t think I can really count him as “famous” or even as a “wow, you know Ken Pearson” name dropping ticket, he’s been part of my family since, well, since before I was a part of my family, and Joplin died just months after I was born, but I guess, someone, somewhere, knows who I’m talking about. It’s not like I actually “know” Ken Pearson, I’ve met him many times, but it’s a six degrees thing. He is a VERY close friend of my uncle, who is the father of two of my most favorite people in the world.

So yeah, moving on. Let’s see, there was Kim Mitchell (served him lemonade for a complete 8 hour shift back in the 80’s. It was a strip club (go me) and he sat in the corner my whole shift, watching the rippers, and tipped me about 30 bucks the whole day (again, go me) There was Halle Berry (yes, she’s as beautiful up close as she is in the movies, sickening, truly sickening) and Geena Davis. Oddly enough, both Berry and Davis I met at exactly the same place. The Spoons…anyone remember the Spoons? How’bout Howard Jones? Okay, Def Leppard. I just know you gotta remember Def Leppard. Yeah? Good.

So anyway, one day, way back in 1988, I was working night shift for the local Tally Ho. Eeeksh. Supplementing is what I was doing actually. I was still going to school, but ya know, when you’re 18, living on your own, you gotta make a living somehow. So yeah, I’m working nights at the Tally Ho and who’s playing Copps Coliseum, but Def Leppard. Now, back in the 80’s I wasn’t much of a “bubblegum rock” fan, more like a bubble gum rock fan’s worst nightmare. My kinda people, kicked the shit outta those kinda people on Saturday nights just for something to do.

On this particular night, I looked up from my roast beef steamer to come face to face with Joe Elliot. Do you know what I did? I stood there staring at him like a bubble gum rocker. I saw his mouth move, but still I stood, staring like a big-haired, teased out, 80’s woman whose joint contains way to much THC. His mouth moved again, and I realized he was talking to me? Not conversing but inquiring. “I’ll have a beef dinner with swiss”, “But you’re Joe Elliot.”, “Yes, I am. I’ll have a beef dinner with swiss”, “But you’re Joe Elliot.” “Yes, I am and I’ll have a beef dinner with swiss” “But, what are you doing here?” “I’m trying to order a beef dinner” “Oh” (I’m sure I’m the only one who looked upon the dramatic silence as a monumental moment) “Oh, shit”,  “Yes, exactly”
Snap back to reality (oops there goes gravity) I realize that not only is Joe Elliot standing in front of me ordering a beef dinner with swiss, but Joe Elliot is really standing in front of me ordering a beef dinner with swiss. “Why would you come here for dinner?” “You do make the best beef sandwiches in the city, no?” Me, taking the comment as a personal triumph said, “Yes, yes I do”

It was an interesting night, with Len (my boss) locking the doors with just Joe, me, my co-worker Kim, him and some members of the crew inside, hanging out, playing Ms Pac-Man and eating french fries with mayonnaise.

And that is why I stopped typing what I was typing and changed direction. Because I know a guy, who was actually in The Full Tilt Boogie Band.

I never did become a bubble gum rocker, but my adventure just goes to show you that a bad case of “star-struck” can run amuck. And I feel obligated to state that I took no part in concocting Joe’s dinner. My boss got that honour.

8 Comments

  1. jollof said,

    February 28, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! I’d love to meet Halle Berry upclose (emphasis on ‘upclose’ for obvious reasons). Diggin’ your Eminem/Lose yourself reference by the way 😉

  2. February 28, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    She’s gorrrrgeous, just gorgeous. I’m glad you caught the reference!

  3. willowbatel said,

    March 1, 2010 at 2:06 am

    It’s a shame the only person I know on that list is Hale Berry hahaha. And Def Leopard only by name. It’s a shame I’m so young, I feel certain that I belong in the generation from 20 years ago. Maybe thirty. Well, you’re still just a normal person to me hahahaha, sorry to disappoint.
    Oh and the Eminem reference was surprising. I didn’t think you’d listen to someone like him. His songs do have meaning, but they’re SO violent that it’s almost hard to listen to them. My sister sings the lyrics of Insane quite happily of course.

    • March 1, 2010 at 7:50 am

      I’ve always felt I was born a few eras too late as well. I think I should have been born sometime between 1820 and 1850. But, alas! Here I am! 😛
      Aha! I listen to quite a variety of music, including some very violent stuff. My all time favorite band is Tool, and at the moment my iPod is full of crunkcore/hardcore/deathmetal and punk. It just has an opposite effect on me, I find it very soothing, while others get enraged by it. Not quite a normal 40 year old Mom now, huh? Hehehe…This is one house where the words are “turn it up” instead of “turn it down”.

  4. willowbatel said,

    March 1, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    I’ve always felt a great pull toward the times of ancient Greece. Also the Mayan culture. Perhaps they were previous lives?
    Haha. Those kinds of songs only make me sad. They sing about things that are SO hurtful and violent, and then people go along and happily sing the words as if they mean nothing.
    My sister would like it at your house I think lol. I’m always making her turn the volume down on things.

    • March 2, 2010 at 8:34 am

      I don’t know what it is about music like that for me. I think it becomes a safe outlet for any rage I might be feeling…?? Sometimes, the songs just say exactly what I feel, and it makes me feel better hearing it put into words. For me, it’s like listening to a thunderstorm with crashes that are fierce enough to make your heart skip a beat. But then, chamber music sometimes has the same effect, without any words!

  5. March 2, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Great Eminem reference! Lovely blog too – just kind of thanking you for the advice you gave on the forum too I’m the middle of it all!
    Ciao

    http://scarletsculturegarden.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

