} Roll the dice, spin the wheel.

I haven’t much cared about the whole Tiger Woods situation, until he took it upon himself to apologize to the world. I suppose there are people out there who feel betrayed and let down by this man they don’t know, but I do not. What others do in their lives is of no consequence to me, really.
But yesterday, Mr. Woods decided that his indiscretions had a global effect, leaving him with the need to make up for it.
Like most others, I watched the apology and sat in awe of the scripting. Yes, of course it was planned, yes of course, it was scripted, yes of course, it was well rehearsed, I however am not as shocked by this as CNN.

What I am shocked by, is its content.

There is a lot of emphasis on the “disease”  that Mr. Woods suffers from, and for which he is seeking treatment. He even goes so far as explaining that as an actively practicing Buddhist, he has been taught “to stop following every impulse and to learn restraint”. He lays blame on his being sidetracked in his faith.

Mr. Woods has participated in therapy, and he will begin more therapy today, in an attempt to understand his affliction and to find ways to overcome it. He says he is learning to ask people for help, and to rely on others.

By having these affairs, isn’t that what he was doing?

He does afterall, suffer from a sex addiction disease. At least, this is what he is seeking treatment for. And this has been his accepted excuse for his actions. I am a sex addict whose faith has let me down.

Does this sound plausible to you? Can you feel a little for the man, who became distracted by an addiction, who seeks treatment for behaviour he believed  he had every right to, until he got caught? That’s right, Mr. Woods believed he had the right to behave the way he did, he believed he deserved it, he had earned it.

I’m sure it was nothing more than a Freudian slip, one that was overlooked by most analysts who were more concerned with the logistics of his speech, but I caught it. It’s right there, in a nutshell, the man felt he had every right.

And I quote:
” I thought I could get away with whatever I wanted to. I felt that I had worked hard my entire life and deserved to enjoy all the temptations around me. I felt I was entitled.”

“I was wrong. I was foolish. I don’t get to play by different rules. The same boundaries that apply to everyone apply to me.”

That doesn’t sound like a disease-ridden man who couldn’t distinguish what was right from what was wrong. That sounds like a man who is disappointed in himself for not knowing how to win the game. A hard thing to swallow for a competitor of Woods’ calibre. Like 99% of the world, he seeks to place the responsibility on something besides his own integrity.

5 Comments

  1. February 22, 2010 at 1:45 am

    That’s an interesting point, sbc, the entitlement statement.

    I came to a similar conclusion, but not by reviewing the statement, which I did not watch because I was busy packing boxes.

    While it is part of any 12-step program to make amends to those the person has harmed, it’s a real stretch to assume that includes all of us, as if his fans were the public as a whole. To me “world’s greatest golfer” is about as important as “world’s greatest ping-pong player” or “most wins at Candyland”.

    He stands to gain financially if he’s able to rehabilitate his public image, by regaining some of his endorsements. He may also be trying to head off a lawsuit by saying there have been no incidents of domestic violence.

    I call “vested interest”.

    • February 22, 2010 at 7:24 pm

      “vested interest”, yes, that’s pretty much what it is. I wonder how many people would grant him more credibility if he just owned up to his mistakes. I’m sure I would have been more impressed by a man who said the wealth and fame went to his head, he cheated, he screwed up, he’s sorry and be done with it. But then again, like you said, his confession would be about as important as someone admitting to being a cheat in a heated game of Candyland.

  2. pienbiscuits said,

    February 23, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    The quote you pulled out was to the point and perhaps should’ve been said two or three months ago, when the scandal was at it’s height. The recovery of his reputation then would’ve been much quicker. As it is, I fear it will remain damaged for some time. As Mikey said, it’s about vested interest and I can’t blame him for that. I just wish there was more honesty about it.

    If having affairs is a disease, then it’s clearly infectious and we’re all in trouble!

  3. thesnacks said,

    February 27, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    I try not to think about this whole situation with Tiger. I do not care about his personal life and neither should anyone else (although it is hard not to care sometimes). I love watching him play golf and that is his job. Plenty of people do what he did (although maybe not with so many women) and it isn’t big news because no one cares.

    I hope he is able to fix everything he broke, but I hope he can do it privately. We shouldn’t know all about what he is going through. I just want to see him play golf again.

    • February 28, 2010 at 7:11 am

      I think it becomes difficult to stay out of Tiger’s life when it’s everywhere you look. It’s unfortunate that his personal life has such an impact on his professional life, but in essence, he did that to himself by using his status as an athelete to play around. I’m not much of a fan of golf, but I do wish he would just get back to doing what he does best. Like you said, golf is his job, and if he can still do the job regardless of his personal life, then he should just get back at it. One just has to hope that the public will allow him to carry on.


Leave a Reply

