} Random Wildlife Pics

This is my little house in the woods.

This picture was taken in the summer when the trees were full and lush.

For a few shots of wildlife on the property

This was the view from the dining room window one afternoon. On average, we have a few herds that pass through everyday, some with as many as 40 deer.

This was also from the dining room window. What was interesting about this deer was how he stood, staring into the window, watching all of us, as if WE were the animals in a zoo.

Bambi, stopping for a drink.

A crane…you can’t tell by the picture, but these birds stand about 4′ tall.

Your average, everyday Rat Snake (non-venomous)

And a bear. Pissed off and leaving because there wasn’t any seed in the birdfeeder.

9 Comments

  1. willowbatel said,

    February 18, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    Your house is gorgeous!
    Before I moved we would get the occasional deer through the yard, maybe one every two months. I hope you have a lot of berries planted out there to feed them all.
    I think that crane is a Blue Herron, I see them all the time but never in my yard. You’re so lucky!
    I hope you were in your car when taking the picture of the bear, not that that would help.
    *sigh* I love the woods.

    • February 18, 2010 at 4:14 pm

      Hehehe….nooo, actually I was standing about 10 feet away from the bear when I took that picture. And there are TONS of berries planted, enough for the deer, the bears, the birds and plenty left over for me to make jam!
      Blue Heron huh? I think you’re right! I’ll have to go back and change that.

  2. February 18, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    I love the look of your place too. I’m hoping to live someplace much more like that. I’m so over the city life.

    I would also think having so much of the natural world close by encourages your creativity.

    • February 19, 2010 at 7:56 am

      Thanks! I hope you find what you’re looking for. The creativity flows in waves, it can often get overwhelming. Yet, it’s amazing sometimes how comfortable one gets just sitting and doing nothing but existing in a place like this. I too am an “urban refugee”, city raised etc. Ironically, even with all the physical labour needed for country/bush life, it’s a much easier way. Somehow, snow shovelling is a very relaxing endeavour out here, unlike in the city.

  3. February 20, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Where is our good friend Mr.Rattlesnake who likes to sunbath in your garden? He is the coolest.

  4. TheSnacks said,

    February 27, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Your house is awesome! I’ve always wanted to live in a place like you do. Hopefully I’ll be able to when I’m older.


Leave a Reply

