Truth, Justice and American Football

What a Super day today. Says the comicbookherogeekofamom. Yes, you read that right. This mid-life mother of four looooves her comic book heroes. And once again, it’s an Up, Up, Up and Away weekend on YTV, so what is it that you think I’m doing? I’m on my umpteenth hour of Superman. Another Superman marathon on TV. I don’t much watch TV as a rule, but the TV has been on all day here in this house, on the cartoon channel no less, and there isn’t a child to be found. At least this year, I’m not walking around with my hands on my hips declaring “Truth, Justice and the American Way!!”….which now that I think about it, probably explains the absence of children. Do you think they’ve heard it all before, one too many times perhaps?

It’s been a day of Superman animated movies. Doomsday, Superman/Batman Public Enemy, Brainiac Attack *sigh*.
And it only gets better tomorrow.
Tomorrow it’s the feature film versions of Superman with Christopher Reeve in all his glory, and the fabulous Kevin Spacey with an Oscar worthy portrayal of Lex Luthor.

And the topper??? It’s SuperBowl Sunday. Can’t get anymore Super then that!

8 Comments

  1. February 6, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    You, my friend, rock! Dare I say, your tastes in cartoons is rather, super? ~_^ I think that’s probably the ONLY reason to have kids! It’s not about family, and love, and all that maternity crap.

    It’s about chatting up a storm about Doomsday and General Zod, without looking like the “comicbook guy” during a community mixer.(j/k)

    I have to say though, I’m a batman fan. I have always been, and when WB Kids was still going strong I watched The New Batman/Superman adventures.

    I love cartoons and you’re never too young or too old too admire super heroes! Funny post!

    -Cheers

    • February 6, 2010 at 9:12 pm

      Every now and then, I convert. And admit that Batman rocks my world too…but I’m more about the villains in Batman, rather then Batman himself. You see, Superman is the only superhero who has a “normal” alter-ego. The rest of them are normal, with superhero alter-egoes (sp?)
      I drive my family nuts! Superheroes and their movies/TV shows are the one thing I insist on! Everything from DC/Marvel/Miller right down to the Watchmen, which oh, my, was SOOOO not appropriate for my 12 yearold daughter. Nothing like insisting the fam watch a movie, only to see Dr. Manhattan’s pendulum swinging across the screen! She wasn’t impressed.

  2. gigisanchez said,

    February 6, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    I’m laughing out loud. I don’t like writing LOL, I rather just spell it out. I like Christopher Reeve and I’m sad that he’s gone. Kevin Spacey is one of the best and I didn’t know he was in that film -I’ll have to get it. I used to dream of a SuperMan that would enter my life and whisk me away but he never came along. I wasn’t really happy about that realization.

    • February 6, 2010 at 9:23 pm

      Spacey is the best thing about Superman Returns, he does an amazing job. He plays Luthor the way I always imagined him while I was growing up. Maybe a Superman is not what you need….maybe you should look for a more villainous type….muwahahaha (said of course, in my deepest most villainous type of voice)

  3. jollof said,

    February 7, 2010 at 5:22 am

    Ah yes, I love cartoons and I do love Superman…still do. Christopher Reeves was my idol as a kid and I don’t think anyone could ever replace him as the ideal superman – he just looked ‘out of this world’. I don’t know if you watch the Smallville series. I’m a big fan and I think the lead character, Tom Welling, comes close. He should have played the lead alongside Kevin Spacey in the Superman movie. That’s my opinion. ‘Thanks’ to you too, I enjoyed reading your (nostalgic) post 🙂

    • February 7, 2010 at 12:16 pm

      I tried to develop an attachment to Smallville, but I was more then slightly overruled by my ever growing herd of children. Much like I find myself today, by child #4 who just chose Amanda Bynes over Kal-El. I was a faithful follower of Lois and Clark in its time however. I do agree that Tom Welling’s portrayal came extremely close to my idea of Superman and would have been a far better choice alongside Spacey.

  4. February 7, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    One time a waitress asked if I would like soup, or juice.

    “Super juice?”, I replied. “I definitely want some of that!”

    • February 8, 2010 at 8:30 am

      That’s awesome….hehehe….you’re really stuck in the quick-speak language aren’t you? I bet you’re hearing it everywhere you go these days.


Leave a Reply

