Umm, excuse me…

I have decided that one of my biggest pet peeves in life is being interrupted.

Not just the cliche “knock on the bathroom door when you’re trying to have a bath” kind of interrupted that moms complain about, but like REAL interruptions. Typing a blog entry for example. And being interrupted to show someone how to do something, or sitting down to finally finish that book and having to get back up again two seconds later to answer the door to a houseguest. Or having someone start a conversation with you when you’re clearly engrossed in another activity. The worst however has to be interruption by cell phone. There is nothing more interrupting then having a friend over for dinner, and while having a solid meal and a quality conversation, their cell phone goes off and they ANSWER it. While they’re having dinner, at YOUR house. I really don’t understand the attraction to cell phones in the first place, because really, if I’m not home, obviously I’m not sitting by the phone waiting for a call from you. What makes you think I want to talk to you while I’m walking down the beach? What’s the point of being available 24 hours a day? Okay, I’m getting off topic here.

Over the past few days, the amount of interruptions I’ve been aware of has soared through the roof. Like just now, when Kayla, who sees me typing like a mad woman, interrupted my thoughts to tell me that the Duggars have had another child. Who fucking cares? And why exactly do I have to stop what I’m doing to have a conversation about a woman I’ve never met, and her insane attempt at TVLand stardom by having 19 kids! Does she think she’s more awesome then most mothers who give birth? Does Kayla? Again, off topic.

Interruptions are just that, interruptions. They aren’t pleasant things. EVER. If I wanted to be doing what it is you want me to do, I’d being doing it instead of what I’m currently doing. But since I’m not doing what it is you want me to be doing, I certainly am not going to be happy stopping what I’m doing to do the thing you want me to do.

in·ter·rupt

1 : to stop or hinder by breaking in
2 : to break the uniformity or continuity of
intransitive verb
: to break in upon an action; especially : to break in with questions or remarks while another is speaking

I’m probably interrupted no less then 100 times in a day. By phone calls, visitors, conversations, requests for help, requests for attention, requests for a pair of socks.
The biggest piss off comes when I respond with a “not right now” type of response, and get a big whopping attitude because I’m not actually sitting around just waiting for an opportunity to be interrupted.

It’s as if people think that I have nothing better to do then sit and wait for the chance to do something to improve their lives in some way. I do have a life. I have more hobbies then the average craft fair can handle, I run a household in ways that most women cannot even begin to fathom, I’m involved in more living then any of my interrupters, and I have a life. Maybe this throws back to my post the other day about losing my studio to Kayla and not having any space to go to. Maybe I just need to work outside of the house, to find my freespace. HAH! Not going to happen, can’t run me outta town.
Alas, the kids just got off the bus, I’m going to practice a little preventative medicine and get offline before I’m interrupted again.

3 Comments

  1. willowbatel said,

    February 6, 2010 at 2:37 am

    I hate when you CLEARLY have something to say, and someone interupts you and interupts you, and interupts you. That’s my biggest interuption issue lol.

    • February 6, 2010 at 7:18 pm

      I hear ya! Especially when they interrupt to input their opinions before you get a chance to get your whole story out. And when it’s important and they stop you with something UNimportant.

  2. willowbatel said,

    February 7, 2010 at 2:23 am

    Yes exactly! That’s the worst!


Leave a Reply

